International Awards and Honours

Submitted by Karthikeyan on
Name of Award Year Instituted Information
Nobel Prize 1900
  • The most prestigious award of US $5860000 in the world is supported by the foundation. It was set up in 1900 under the will of Alfred Bernhard Nobel.
  • The obel prizes are presented annually on 10 December (The death anniversary of the founder and the festival of the foundation).
  • It is given in the fields of Pease, Literature, Physics, Chemistry (from 1901) and Economics (from 1969).
Pulitzer Prize 1917
  • Named after the US Publisher, Joseph Pulitzer;
  • It is annually conferred in the US for accomplishment in Journalism, literature and music
Magsaysay Award 1957
  • Named after Ramon Magsaysay, President of the Philippines;
  • It is annually (August 31) conferred for outstanding contribution to Public Service, Community Leadership, Journalism, Literature, Creative Arts and International Understanding
Templeton Award 1972
  • Conferred by the Templeton Foundation for progress in religion-inaugurated by John M. Templeton, a presbyterian of Nassau, Bahamas
Booker Prize 1968
  • It is the highest literary award in the world, set up by the Booker Company and the British Publishers Association
Right Livelihood 1980
  • Instituted by Jakob Von Vexkull, a Swedish-German writer and Philatelic expert, after selling his stamp collection; also known as the Alternative Nobel Prize and conferred annually for practical and exemplary solutions to real problems of today
Jawaharlal Nehru 1965 Instituted by Government of India, it is conferred annually to persons for outstanding contribution in promotion of international understanding, goodwill, and friendship among the people of the world
Oscar Award 1929 Conferred annually by the Academy of Motion pictures, Arts and Sciences in the US in recognition of contribution and performance in the field of cinema
UN Human Rights 1966 This award is given every 5 years for individual contributions to the establishment of human rights.
Jesse Owens 1992 Instituted by the International Amateur Athletic Federation; Global Award to honor individuals with sports background who have made significant and lasting contribution to society.
UNESCO Prize for Tolerance 1995 Instituted by UNESCO for the promotion of tolerance and non-voilence on the occasion of the UN year of Tolerance and the 125th anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi.